Tag Archives: 一品唐人阁

India vs New Zealand: Rohit Sharma’s winning streak as T20I captain comes to an end

by ,

first_imgNew Zealand (219/6) beat India (139) by 80 runs, take 1-0 lead in 3-match series. MS Dhoni (39), Tim Southee (3/17), Lockie Ferguson (2/22), Mitchell Santner (2/24). Full ScorecardIndia had a forgetful outing in the first T20 international against New Zealand on Wednesday as they lost the opening match of the three-match series by 80 runs to concede a 1-0 lead to the home side.The loss was India’s heaviest while chasing in terms of runs and it also brought an end to Rohit Sharma’s winning streak as captain in the shortest format.Rohit had seven successive wins as India’s T20I captain before this result. MS Dhoni is the only other Indian skipper who seven successive wins twice in his career as the captain.Put into bat New Zealand were off to a flying start thanks to openers Tim Seifert and Colin Munro. The duo added 86 runs before Munro got out to Krunal Pandya for 34.Captain Kane Williamson then joined forces with Seifert and added 48 runs for the second wicket before departing for 34.Seifert continued his onslaught on the Indian bowlers and smashed 84 off 43 balls with seven boundaries and six maximums before being castled by a brilliant yorker from Khaleel Ahmed. Seifert was also dropped on 71 by Dinesh Karthik.Some late hitting from Ross Taylor (23) and Scott Kuggeleijn (20 not out) propelled New Zealand to 219 for 6 in 20 overs.New Zealand win by 80 runs. Go 1-0 up in the three match T20I series.#NZvIND pic.twitter.com/RDet7K7uqbBCCI (@BCCI) February 6, 2019India’s run chase was then derailed by Tim Southee and Mitchell Santner at the very start of the innings as they combined to remove Rohit (1), Shikhar Dhawan (29), Rishabh Pant (4) and Vijay Shankar (27) in quick succession.advertisementMS Dhoni then tried to bring India back into the match along with Krunal Pandya with the pair adding 52 runs for the seventh-wicket but it was a case of being too little too late for India.Pandya made 20 while Dhoni fell for 39 in the penultimate over as India eventually got bowled out for 139 in 19.2 overs.Southee was the pick of the bowlers with 3 wickets while Lockie Ferguson, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi bagged two wickets each while debutant Daryl Mitchell got one.Sodhi’s twin strikes in his very first over in the second innings took his tally of wickets against India to 10 which is the joint-second most in the T20 format. Pakistan’s Umar Gul leads the list with 11 wickets while Shane Watson (Australia), Dushmantha Chameera (Sri Lanka) and now Sodhi have 10 wickets each against India in T20 internationals.Also Read | We were outplayed in all departments: Rohit Sharma after India’s worst T20I defeatAlso Read | India crash to their worst T20I defeat after horror show against New Zealandlast_img read more